Saturday, July 25, 2015

Julie Johnstone Book List

Whisper of Scandal Series
Book 1-3 Boxed Set
Book 1: Bargaining with a Rake
 It’s hard to catch a husband when your fiancé keeps getting in the way, but Gillian Rutherford means to do so, by fair means or foul.

For eleven years, Gillian has dreamed of fleeing England and trading in her life as one of the notorious Duke of Death’s daughters for a fresh start where she must no longer hide the true circumstances of how her mother died. Now, faced with an arranged marriage that will chain Gillian to both England and her family’s dark secret, she’s desperate to save herself and the sister she adores. Salvation presents itself in the form of an American shipping tycoon. All she must do is meet him, seduce him and convince him to marry her without her frosty father or her deplorable fiancé becoming wise to her scheme. Gillian’s plan hits a snag when she makes a bargain with Alexander Trevelle, Lord Lionhurst, the unintentional heartbreaker.

Burdened with the belief that the sins of his past left him unworthy of love, Alex Trevelle avoids marriage with the finesse of a pickpocket born to the trade. When a peer of the realm seduces and destroys Alex’s sister, he hatches a scheme to publicly crush his enemy by stealing the man’s fiancé. Marriage to the ravishing and reckless Lady Gillian seems a minor sacrifice for Alex to get what he wants. There’s only one problem: the headstrong hoyden simply will not have him. Determined to secure his vengeance, Alex enters into a bargain with the beguiling lady. He’ll help her win the hand of his American friend if she’ll assist him with exacting revenge against her unwanted fiancé. It’s the perfect scheme, until the layers they hide behind begin to slip, and they come to discover that the price of keeping their pact may just be their hearts. In an atmosphere thick with desire, incipient hope and lies, they are torn between a need to hide ancient mistakes and a longing to embrace the truth no matter the cost.
Book 2: Conspiring with a Rogue
In order to save the man she loves from the enemy bent on destroying her, Lady Whitney Rutherford sheds her identity and escapes her past, making a new life for herself as Mr. Roger Wentworth, missing person locator extraordinaire. But when Whitney’s best friend from her old life comes up missing and there is every indication the girl was taken by the debauched members of a sex club, Whitney dons a new disguise and infiltrates the sex club, determined to unravel the mystery and save her friend. She never expects to encounter Drake Sutherland,the man who still has her heart. In the dark world of pleasure and sin, Whitney must play a dangerous game and one wrong move could mean the death of her friend or the destruction of the man she loves. 
Book 3: Dancing with a Devil
 A lord chained to his past…
Lord Trent Rutherford’s past has left him guarded and jaded and perfectly content to spend the rest of his life moving from one meaningless affair to the next. Until he meets Lady Audrey Cringlewood, an innocent beauty who makes him question everything he believes. His devilish demeanor guards more than a wounded heart. Behind his swagger lie secrets he’d rather forget than face, but the price of forgetting may be his second chance at life.
A lady determined to shape her future…
Audrey Cringlewood longs to marry for love, not convenience. After several months of flirtatious banter, secret smiles and one very unforgettable kiss, Trent Rutherford, the rake known as Sin, proves himself the man of her dreams. Audrey suspects she understands the pain he hides behind his devil may care attitude, but when the truth comes to light, is her love enough to heal all wounds or will the secrets Trent guarded so carefully tear them apart forever?
Book 4: After Forever
Lady Julianna Barrows has no desire to ever marry again. Loving and losing her first love was enough for her lifetime. She has her daughter to care about and that is all she needs, or so she thought. When past secrets come to light, her world tilts.

Nash Wolverton needs to learn to be a gentleman and find a Society wife. His daughter’s future depends on it. And he has found the perfect candidate. Now he just needs to convince her to give love a second chance.

This is the first book I’ve read from this author and really enjoyed it. I am looking forward to reading the first three books in the series to get to know the characters who already had their stories. Bargaining with a Rake, Conspiring with a Rogue and Dancing with a Devil.
**Sexual content
Once Upon a Rogue Series
Book One: My Fair Duchess
Colin Sinclair, Duke of Aversley was a rake above all rakes. And even though he used women for his own pleasure, he mistrusted them. Having grown tired of his life and what he'd become, he receives a letter on his twenty-fifth birthday that definitely will change his life. Whether he wants to or not. First he must save his friend Philip de Vere from making the mistake of his life, marriage.

Amelia de Vere has loved Charles since she was eight and has planned to marry him. She is running out of time to get Charles to see that she is the one for him. Unexpected help comes in the form of her brother's friend, the Duke of Aversley. Suddenly nothing in Amelia's life is as clear as she thought.

This story shows how there are often circumstances that cause people to live as they do. It's not always the right way, but it's the only way they know how to handle things. Not knowing the whole story has our characters misjudging one another. Great secondary characters in this story as well.
Book Two: My Seductive Innocent
Nathaniel Ellison, Marquess of Deering, the Fifth Duke of Scarsdale considered himself a man with a black heart. He would never love a woman, use them for his pleasure, yes...but love them, no. It was the one lesson he learned well from his mother, never love or trust a woman.

Sophia Vane hated her life and was close to escaping it. She would take her little brother and escape the clutches of their cruel father. And then the handsome duke came into the Breeding Tavern and everything changed.

Two worlds collide in this story. The very rich and envied Duke of Scarsdale that every marriage minded mama wanted for her daughter and the poorest of poor. Not to mention someone seems to want the handsome duke dead as well. To enjoy the full story you may want to start with book one, My Fair Duchess.
**Sexual content
Book Three: My Enchanting Hoyden
Miss Jemma Adair never agreed with her mother's distrust of men, until she was burned herself by one of the scoundrels. Then learned her mother was right again when she and her sister are swept out of America and to England with their cold-hearted grandfather who just wants to marry them off. Her life would never be the same.

Philip De Vere, Earl of Harthorne had to become like the men he hated, he needed to marry for money. He was a poet and dreamed of a marriage of love like his parents had before his father's death. Too bad the American fiery redhead didn't come with a dowry.

Life as an aristocrat was not always so easy. They had lands and homes to keep up and heaven forbid they do anything for the ton to wag their tongues over.

The author did a great job of bringing the characters to life, some to love and others to hate. If you enjoy knowing the background of characters from previous books, be sure to read the first two. Book one, My Fair Duchess, is Philip's sister's story. Book two, My Seductive Innocent is Scarsdale and Sophia who are mentioned often in this story.
**Received from author for an honest review