Thursday, August 2, 2012

Abingdon Press Books

Loree Lough's Books have moved to:
Heart of a Hero Series
A Texan's Promise
Amazon      B&N      CBD
Clayton Proffitt is foreman of the Circle Z ranch in Texas. He been there six years. After the war he was an empty shell, little Vanessa Grant had filled that shell from the first day there. When her father died he promised to protect her.

When Vanessa woke Clay up with her crying in the barn he went to her. Her step father had beaten her and she had gashes in her back. Clayton decided he would take her away that night. After reprimanding her brother for being spineless and allowing this to happen he packed her clothes and they set off for Colorado. When staying with an army buddy along the way Ken talked him into marrying her. Vanessa always cared for Clay but did not want to trap him, but they knew to protect her name and from Price Venture it was what needed doing.

In this story we travel from Texas to Colorado. There are many hidden emotions both character hide. Clay's memories of war and Vanessa keeps hidden all that happened that night Price attacker her.

Miles Grant struggles as he goes with Price in search of her. Miles just wants to be cared for by anyone who will. 

We meet Lacy in Denver. A childhood friend of Clay's sister Corrine. Lacy's life has taken a bad turn.

The author does not leave out the dark side of life. The temptations and desires that call to mans sinful nature. The emptiness of man without God in his life.

I look forward to more of her writing.

She does also publish under the name Shelley Shepard Gray. I read Autumn's Promise part of a series about the Amish. Definitely a great read as well!
**Received book from NetGalley for review
Book 2: A Texan's Honor by Shelley Gray
Amazon      B&N      CBD
Will McMillian had served in the war under Captain Clayton Proffitt (A Texan's Promise). Since then he has become a US Marshal and works undercover. He had been with the Walton Gang for almost two years now and sometimes Will forgot he was not really one the bad guys. His Boss, James Walton, takes over a train for the bankroll and silver they take hostages. One happened to be a beautiful young woman, Jamilyn Ellis. Will takes Jamie under his protection so the other guys can't hurt her. She reminds him of a time in life when things were better. When it looks like he may not be able to protect her life and virtue from the other men, they jump off the train. But he knows Walton will send the killer, Scout Proffitt, after them. Walton don't leave loose ends.

Jamie was heading to her aunts in Kansas. They had agreed to take her in after both of her parents passed away from illness. Only that ride from Colorado to Kansas City changes her life. At first she fears Will, but slowly on she begins to trust him.

Some of the story is shown through Scout's view as well. How he is opposite of his law abiding brother, Clayton. Everyone sees Scout as a killer and fears him. Both Will and Scout seem to lose belief that God could still care for them. They had been in the war, and it changed them. Jamie lost her two brothers in the war and it changed her life as well. Her parents mourned her brother's and forgot she existed. Both books in this series have been exceptional.
**Received through NetGalley for review.
Book 3: A Texan's Choice
Scout Proffitt has gone the opposite way of his war hero brother, Clayton. Scout has lived his life as a loner and hired gun. After some things that happened in Scout’s life in the second book, A Texan’s Honor, he decides to go to the ranch he won gambling and settle down. What he didn’t expect was how run down the place was and the young woman who was there with nowhere else to go.

Rosemarie Cousins felt unworthy. Since an accident ten years ago she has been an outcast in her own family. Her father has just passed away, an outlaw has come to claim their home and land and to top it all off….the rest of her family don’t want her. She is left to the mercy of a merciless killer. Or is he different than the rumors and dime novels that were written about him?

A Texan’s Choice brings back characters from the previous two books, A Texan's Promise and A Texan's Honor. Many of these characters feel unworthy to be loved or respected. They look up to Clayton as a role model that they never believe they can emulate, but all want to. We see grace for a lonely and forgotten woman, a tired outlaw, a man who never cared about anyone but himself as well as a young man still in his teens who had to grow up way too quickly. The author never leaves out the tough things. The real life evil of the world or what her characters have lived. Which just makes God’s grace all that more when we see the end story.
**Received through NetGalley for review
Highland Series
Book 1: Highland Blessings
Scotland, 1473 
Highland warrior Bryce MacPhearson kidnaps Akira MacKenzie on her wedding day to honor a promise he made to his dying father. When he forces Akira to wed him, hoping to end a half-century feud between their clans, she struggles to overcome her anger and resentment. . .Yet her strength in the Lord becomes a witness to Bryce. But there is a traitor in their midst . . . and murder is the ultimate weapon.
Highland Sanctuary 
Amazon      B&N       CBD
Scotland 1477
Serena and Evelina Boyd along with Gunna, her nursemaid, live in a village by Braigh Castle, called the Village of Outcasts. Twenty years ago they left after Serena's father wanted her gone because of her seizures, Evelina refused to give up her only daughter so she left. Too many people feared the falling disease and would burn her at the stake as a witch, so only the villagers knew the secret. Not even the Laird, Iain MacBraigh (pronounced as Ian or Ee un) knew what Serena had or that she had more than common blood running through her veins.

Gavin MacKenzie and his brother, Leith, were coming to help rebuild Braigh Castle and to help protect the new Laird. His Uncle had died a suspicious death and they had come to investigate under the pretense of the construction. Once he met Serena his heart would not let go of her. Her fear of having outsiders see her fits kept her from giving Gavin her heart. And Gavin had to fight the jealousy of seeing Iain trying to win her heart as well.

This was such an excellent story. There is the cousin trying to take the castle over, mysterious things start happening to the village, and the secrecy the villagers keep hidden from outsiders.

The Village of Outcasts has such unique people and Jennifer shows that people should not be judged by outer appearances. There is Father Tomas who was ousted from the large parish as he stuttered, Quinn is eight foot tall and his best friends are Beacon who is a dwarf and Phelan who is a white wolf. Cara is blind, the cobbler is deaf. They are all loving and kind people. The folks who live a few hours away in Braighwick are the opposite, they are quick to judge appearances and suspicious. Ready and willing to become a mob without caring what the truth is.
**Received through NetGalley for review.

No comments:

Post a Comment